For the many thoughts that come and go unannounced and the ones which refuse to budge out of my head…

College Myths Busted

A lot of us have seen those numerous films and television shows which give the rosiest picture about college life. But for all those who believe, that life is all fun and games once you come into college, sorry to burst your bubble, and let me tell you that it’s not.Thanks to all the crap I grew up watching, half my school life I thought that when I go to college, whenever I fight with my best friend, it’ll be the talk of town; someday there’ll be a gang war just for me; or at least that there’ll be a coordinated dance sequence and song for every changing emotion of mine. Sadly, none of this ever happened.

Here are some of the popular myths about college and the reality:

~

Myth 1: College life is all song and dance. There is a NO studying to do and nothing to worry about.

Busted: There is a LOT to worry about; exams, attendance, results, assignments, attendance, schedules, classes, ATTENDANCE..Β etc..

~

Myth 2: Bunking classes never results in consequences

Busted: If you keep bunking classes and get carried away, you CAN be thrown out!

~

Myth 3: If you keep failing in college you’re a stud.

Busted: If you keep failing in college you WILL be thrown out!

~

Myth 4: There are hoards of guys standing outside girls’ colleges to ‘bird-watch’.

Busted: Whoever stated this nonsense, can you please tell me where all these guys are? I myself am dying to see this happen.

~

Myth 5: College fests are in fact extended parties and excuses to flirt around. (and a song follows)

Busted: They are NOT.

~

Myth 6: People come to college ONLY to find a boyfriend/girlfriend.

Busted: Then what are dating sites for???

~

Myth 7: All teachers (especially the principal) are maniacs. Plus at the most there are just about two teachers- a good one (read: hot one) and a bad one (read: old one).

Busted: Teachers in fact are sometimes more sane than students. And there are more than 100 teachers in even the smallest colleges.

~

Myth 8: Gang wars!

Busted: Hell no!

~

Myth 9: The hot Chemistry teacher.

Busted: Chemistry is not even an isolated subject in college!

~

Myth 10: People spend hours to decide what to wear and to dress up before college, and end up looking like a decked up Christmas tree every single day.

Busted: Well, lets just say that does not happen. And if you are one of those who does it and is reading this, then it’s high time you get a life.

~

And as for Mr. Creator of films on college, Mr. Creator of the utterly nonsensical college and school dramas,Β and all the likes, for once please put some reality into what you make.

Comments on: "College Myths Busted" (14)

  1. I don’t know much about college, as I’m still in school but I always believed colleges are like what they show in movies and television. Ooh, thanks for clearing my misconceptions. πŸ˜›
    Nice post, btw. πŸ™‚

    • Hehe.. thanks.. πŸ™‚
      even I was one of those who thought my life is going to turn into a musical when I enter college.. but my poor little bubble was ruthlessly shattered, once I did.. πŸ˜›
      it’s amazing how much crap we’re fed while growing up.. I’m glad it could help..
      cheers.. πŸ™‚

  2. […] College Myths Busted « Th&#1077 Objective Onlooker […]

  3. hey thnx for dropping by on my blog.

    @ the post : LOL !

    but cmon , there are so many girls in college who dress up like crazy !!! i am called zany for im always in my pyjamas in college – and it is so funny when your proffesors continually ask you things like – “are you in the hostel devika??” just becoz you dress funny .

    about men – i think , they are extinct , times are so tough that i could do with just penises floating around (which is more or less what men have always been. figuratively) – and oh god , our fests are so sad that sometimes i want to blow up the place just to add a little life.

    college = NOT THAT GREAT !

    though , it would be amazin , if people would just break into choreographed dances once in a while . maybe thats sumthing i should ask my dramsoc people to do. then life could get easier.

    keep writing , you write really well πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much, Devika πŸ™‚
      and those girls are the ones who need a life.. DESPERATELY!!
      I mean seriously, the time they’d consume to choose a dress, I’d rather use that time to sleep some more.

      Of course, I’ve given up on the men, they ARE extinct!

      And fests might just get a LITTLE exciting if we plant a bomb somewhere (how about VP’s office?) πŸ˜›

      And we really do need the choreographed dance sequences to make an otherwise dead college day come to life! (oooh.. ironic ‘dead’ college ‘life’) πŸ˜›

      Anyway.. thank you so very much once again.. πŸ™‚
      And hope to see those coordinated dance sequences soon.. πŸ˜›
      Hugs.. πŸ™‚

  4. Really nicely written and funny, as well as enlightening for someone whos still not in college. Ie, me. πŸ˜€

    • Hehe.. πŸ˜€
      thanks Sakhi, I’m glad it could help.
      And I’ll warn you in advance… please don’t expect too much when you enter college, it really isn’t worth all the hype..
      hugs.. πŸ™‚

  5. ha ha well said,i am happy that college is still the same as it was in 2000 πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Deethi.. πŸ™‚
      it still is.. and I guess it will always be.. πŸ˜›
      but I guess some things are better left unchanged.. πŸ™‚
      and I somehow am actually glad college life isn’t like what they show in movies.. that would just defeat the purpose of college itself..
      hugs.. πŸ™‚

  6. :). I go way back to my college days and I studied in a girls college. The bird-watchers bubble was busted on Day 1. The rest were all busted over a period of time. LOL for this post.

    • Thanks a tonne, Poornima di.. πŸ™‚
      and by the way,
      another thing in common… even I’m in a girls’ college.. πŸ™‚

      It is truly amazing how we grow up with the rose tinted perception about college.
      It’s just sad when poor little freshers come to college and over time they suffer from shattered perceptions.
      Mine wasn’t that harsh, as I was warned well in time..
      But there was still a part of me which expected something filmy.. too bad, myths shall always be myths.. πŸ˜›
      And now I feel responsible to pass on the message to my fellow victims, i.e. juniors.. πŸ˜›

      hugs..

  7. Lol…yeah…’Girls college’ in all its entirety is one BIG myth! heheh..
    Isn’t it quite funny how most people tell college students- “This is going to be the best years of your life..make sure you enjoy it..blah.blah”..I’ve always wondered whether they were secretly implying if life post college would be hell?!!..

    and AK, good job =)

    • Hey thank you so much.. πŸ™‚
      and life in college is certainly not hell!!
      Just not like what they make it look like… Thank heavens for that.. πŸ˜›
      cheers.. πŸ™‚

  8. big hugs back to you girl…

Leave a Reply

